SGTP 2007 Professional Development Awards

All members, regardless of size or budget, have an equal
opportunity to compete in SGTP's Professional Development

SGTP’s Professional Development Awards advance professionalism
in the government travel market.

Winning a PDA could mean great things for you!

Download Entry Form


  1. Government Entity
  2. Government Contractor
  3. Supplier—National Program
  4. Supplier—Local Program
  5. Travel Agency
  6. Person of the Year

Entry Rules

  • All SGTP members are eligible to enter.

  • Entries may be prepared by anyone associated with the member organization.

  • Entries submitted for Categories A-E must pertain to sales, education, operations, marketing, public service or other professional development activity carried out between January 1 and December 31, 2007.  Category F requires a bio, and detailed statement of accomplishments during 2006.

  • Member organizations may submit more than one entry, within the appropriate category.

  • Supporting materials may be submitted and are encouraged; see Entry for details.

Judging Criteria

Entries for Categories A-E will be judged by a panel of government and travel industry experts based on the following criteria:

  • EFFECTIVENESS in research, addressing and solving an industry problem(s), communications, use of organization resources, etc
  • INNOVATION in selecting target market(s), selection of media and other promotional vehicles, using visual and written materials to communicate message, etc.
  • CREATIVITY in the approach to the market, message originality, etc.

Awards will be made in some or all of the categories, at the discretion of the judges.  The Awards Committee will choose one person, who best fulfills the ideals of professionalism in government travel, service and management, as SGTP’s Person of the Year.


2007 Professional Development Awards Judging Committee


  • Scott Lamb, CCTE, Hyatt Select Hotel Group, Atlanta, GA
  • Norma Pratt, CTC, Rodgers Travel, Philadelphia, PA

Members: (Invited)

  • Deniece Coke, Radisson Hotel Largo/Washington, DC Area, Largo, MD
  • Dan Friedman, Federal Times, Springfield, VA
  • Mari Ann Gray, Best Western Hotels Worldwide, Bristow, VA
  • Ilona Kiersted, Sabre Travel Network, Fairfax, VA
  • Cathy Masi, Innovata, Buford, GA
  • Kevin McElroy, C.I. Travel, Norfolk, VA
  • Dave Overbagh, US Marine Corps Community Services, Quantico, VA
  • Stacy Painter, Digital Fusion-NASA, Huntsville, AL
  • Sally Rinaldi, FDIC, Arlington, VA
  • Mary Sarkis, Choice Hotels International, Silver Spring, VA
  • Dan Yount, US Army Community FSC, Alexandria, VA

2006 Professional Development Awards Winners

Travel Agency Government Program

Best:  Alamo Travel Group

Certificate of Achievement:  Azumano Travel

Certificate of Achievement:  C I Travel

Certificate of Merit:  Duluth Travel

Government Travel Manager Program

Best:  State of Oregon DAS Procurement

Best:  US Department of the Treasury, BPD/ARC Travel Services

Certificate of Achievement:  State of Colorado Travel Management Program

Government Contractor Program

Best:  Digital Fusion

Travel Supplier—Local Program

Best:  Primm Valley Casino Resort

Certificate of Achievement:  Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport

Certificate of Merit:  ResortQuest Hawaii

Travel Supplier--National Program

Certificate of Merit:  Advantage Rent A Car

Certificate of Merit:  Choice Hotels International

Travel Supplier—Global Program

Certificate of Achievement:  AmeriForce Publishing, Inc.


Mary Sarkis